You Don’t Know What Is Good For You

William B. Turner
3 min readMar 24, 2022
The Buddha

And that by definition. If you did, you would not be here. Or, maybe some fully awakened person is out there, reading this. I can’t imagine why they would, but if you are there, welcome. I’m happy to have you, just as I am happy to have any reader.

It may not be the best description, but I think it is not inaccurate to say that the Buddha was pretty arrogant in some sense. After he awakened, he did not seem much interested in listening to anyone else’s explanation of the world or how it worked. He had realized his own explanation and was very confident that it was the right explanation, or a right explanation. I don’t think he bothered with any discussion of the whether some other explanation could be both different and equally right. The fascination with possible parallel universes is, to my knowledge, a modern fixation.

I rather doubt that the Buddha would read what I write, except maybe in the manner of a professor reading a student essay. We’re all on the path. I am presumptuous enough to think that I have something interesting and useful to say about this path that might help other people, so I write about it. Anyone is free to read or not read what I write.

We know that the Buddha had a moment, immediately after he awakened, when he doubted that he could ever explain what he had realized to anyone else. To state what should…

--

--